"Missouri Community Betterment: 

Transformation and Preservation" 

 The 2016 MCB Annual Conference was held October 23 & 24th
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center, Columbia


October 24, 2016

Twenty-one communities and 10 community leaders were honored at the Missouri Community Betterment (MCB) conference in Columbia. The 53rd annual conference included speakers from the Missouri Department of Tourism, Missouri Department of Economic Development, USDA, and Regional Planning Commissions and had keynotes from Author and Syndicated Radio Host, Les Norman and Kevin Laue, the 1st player missing a limb to play NCAA Division 1 basketball. Missouri Community Betterment assists communities in their efforts to improve their quality of life through community and economic development efforts. Nearly 225 volunteers, community leaders and youth from across the state were in attendance.

The community of Cameron won the Gene Speichinger Community of the year award.  This award recognizes the outstanding community amongst the 21 communities entered in this year's Awards program. MCB judges and Board members were impressed with their outstanding community involvement and how strategic planning was evident in all projects.  Their projects had a wide impact on the community for its citizens of all ages.

 “The Missouri Community Betterment Board congratulates all the volunteers from our communities all throughout the state,” MCB President Brett Dinkins said. “These dedicated individuals and their collaborative community and economic development efforts continue to make Missouri’s rural communities a place people want to call home.

The Monday evening Awards Banquet is an integral part of the MCB program, which is administered by the Missouri Community Betterment Educational Fund. MCBEF is a not-for-profit organization made up of businesses, public utilities, community representatives, federal and state agencies and individuals. From 2008-2015 MCB communities poured more than $420,859,704.22 back into their local economies through their community development projects.

Following is a list of the community and individual award winners:

Gene Speichinger
Community of the Year Award: 

J.C. Smith
 Youth Group of the Year Award:

Community Awards Youth Groups
Category I

First Place: Mayview

Second Place: Galena

Third Place: Caledonia

Fourth Place: Allendale

Fifth Place:  Annapolis

Category II

First Place: Albany

Second Place:  Reeds Spring

Third Place:  Mansfield

Fourth Place: Steelville

Fifth Place:  Green City

Certificate of Merit:  Lowry City

Category III

First Place: St. James

Second Place: Houston

Third Place: Louisiana

Fourth Place: Fayette

Fifth Place:  Malden

Category IV

First Place: Cameron

Second Place: Perryville

Third Place: Lamar

Fourth Place: Salem

Fifth Place:  Trenton

Category I

First Place: Galena

Second Place: Caledonia

Category II

First Place:  Steelville

Second Place:  Mansfield

Category III

First Place: Louisiana

Second Place:  Houston

Category IV

First Place:  Lamar

Second Place: Perryville

Leadership Awards

Adult Leadership Award

Jackie Allenbrand – Albany
Artie Howell – Annapolis
Barbara McDaniel – Lamar
Patricia Bolton – Louisiana
Alex Sellers – Salem

Youth Leadership Award

Blayre Messner – Albany
Makayla Koch – Houston
Noah Shaw – Lamar
Dawson Miller – Louisiana
Makayla Cahill – Salem


For photos contact:
Lloyd Grotjan
Full Spectrum Photo
218 East High Street Jefferson City MO 65101
(573) 635-0250

Missouri Community Betterment
P.O. Box 842, Mexico, MO 65265